Table of Contents
INSTAGRAM is one of the most popular social media platforms used, mainly for sharing of images and product advertisiment.
Social media can get tiring though at time, and if you feel like you need a break from what an influencer is doing, then here is how to delete your Instagram account.
How to delete an Instagram account
You can only get rid of your account for good by accessing Instagram through a web browser.
You cannot delete your account through the Instagram app.
Here’s a simple step-by-step guide on how to do it…
- Sign in to Instagram.com.
- Click ‘Help’ on the right-hand side of the page, underneath the ‘Suggestions For You’ list.
- Click ‘Managing Your Account’.
- Click ‘Delete Your Account’.
- Click ‘How do I delete my Instagram account’, followed by the ‘Delete Your Account’ hyperlink that appears under that.
- A drop-down menu will appear asking you to select your reason for deleting your account.
- To continue, re-enter your password.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click ‘permanently delete my account’.
Your Instagram account is now deleted and you are permanently off the network.
Can I restore my deleted Instagram account
Once your account is deleted, there is no way of getting it back.
To get back on Instagram you will have to register once again and you can also use the same email address that you used for your previous account.
On the other hand, you might not be able to get the same username you had before.
On their website, Instagram say that “you may not be able to get the same username” but do not throw the possibility of maybe using it out the window either.
So if you want to try, you might be lucky.
What happens to my Instagram photos if I delete my account
Once you delete your account, all actions performed on the app will be permanently deleted too.
Any photos, followers, messages, likes, comments and all that you ever did on the app, will be deleted.
If you want to save your photos from being deleted you can either deactive your account.
This will allow you not to use Instagram and also hide your profile but if you’d ever want to use it again, you just reactivate the same account.
To deactive an account:
- Sign in to Instagram.com.
- Head to your profile page, and select ‘Edit Profile’ at the top, next to your username.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page, and select the option to “Temporarily disable my account.
- You will be asked to choose a reason from a drop-down list as to why you are disabling your account, and then asked to enter your password.
- Select “Temporarily Disable Account”.
To reactive your account simply log in with your username and password.
If you just deactivated the account, it might not be reactivated immediately, so give it some time.
Otherwise, if you are certain that you want to delete your account but save your photos you can download an app called Instaport.
This app will let you transform all the photos from your profile before you delete the account so that you can save them.
Just download the app from the store on your phone and then just log into your account and give Instaport access to your files.
Can I use Instagram without an account?
No – due to an Instagram update in 2020, you can no longer browse Instagram without having signed up to the platform.
If you try to view profiles, posts, or Stories, you will be automatically sent to a log-in page when you try to view Instagram profiles, posts and stories.
You have to create a profile or log in to browse the platform or upload content.